Colorado PERA School Division members elected Tina Mueh and re-elected Marcus A. Pennell to the 16-member Board of Trustees. Mueh is a middle school science teacher currently serving as a teacher on special assignment in the Boulder Valley School District. She will fill the seat formerly held by Guillermo Barriga. Pennell is a physics teacher at Ralston Valley High School in the Jefferson County School District and previously served on the Board from 2003–2007 and from 2009–2017.

In March, the Board of Trustees appointed Julie Friedemann to the retiree Trustee position elected by the retired members of the School, Local Government, and Judicial Divisions because she was the only candidate duly nominated and eligible to be elected to the position. Friedemann is a retired mathematics teacher from the Jefferson County Public Schools. Friedemann replaces Carole Wright who has served on the Board in the retiree Trustee position since 2005 and did not seek re-election. The Board, also in March, appointed Suzanne E. Kubec to fill a State Division seat. Kubec was the only candidate duly nominated and eligible to be elected to the position. Kubec is the Liability Claims Manager for the State Office of Risk Management. Kubec replaces Maryann Motza who retired in December.

All positions are four-year terms.

The Board approved the appointment of Guillermo Barriga to fill a School Division vacancy. Barriga has served on the Board since 2016 and replaces Karl Fisch who resigned his seat in May. Barriga will serve a one-year term, effective July 1.

By State law, the Colorado General Assembly sets contribution rates and benefit levels and the PERA Board of Trustees has oversight of investments and benefit administration. The Board is composed of 16 Trustees, 11 of whom are elected by the PERA membership, three Governor-appointed Trustees, a non-voting ex officio member elected by the membership from the Denver Public Schools Division, and the State Treasurer who serves as an ex officio voting member of the Board. More information on the Board of Trustees may be found online.